Gym Marketing
Marketing content for gym and studio owners—local SEO, advertising, email and social, referrals, and turning leads into members.
Most gym management software costs between $50 and $300 a month for the software itself. With card processing (usually 2.7% to 3.5% plus about 30 cents a charge), total gym management software pricing for a 150-member school collecting $12,000 a month runs about $470 to $980 a month.
Where your gym lands in that range depends on how each vendor charges. And the subscription is usually the smaller half of the bill.
Pull up three gym software pricing pages right now. You'll see prices from "Free" to "Contact us for a quote," sold per member, per feature, or by tier. You'll also see asterisks leading to footnotes about processing fees nobody reads until month three.
Below are 11 of the most-compared platforms. Prices were rechecked on October 27, 2026, against every vendor that publishes them.
Gym Management Software Pricing Comparison (2026)
Eleven platforms, two tables: the first for vendors who publish pricing, the second for vendors who don't. Published plans run from $0 (PushPress Free) to $289/month (Zen Planner's top Studio tier); Mindbody and Glofox quote only through sales.
Platforms with published pricing
Nine of the 11 put a number on their own site. The processing column is the card rate unless it says otherwise, and it's the line that grows with your gym.
Platform | Base Price | Processing (Card) | Gym Type Fit | Setup Fee |
Gymdesk | $75–$200/mo up to 250 members (by member count, with Gymdesk Payments) | 2.9% + $0.30 (Gymdesk Payments, $5/mo account fee; own processor adds $25/mo to the plan, $40 on Large) | MA, BJJ, multi-discipline | None |
PushPress Free | $0/mo | 4.99% + $0.30 | CrossFit, small gym | None |
PushPress Pro | $159/mo | 2.89% + $0.30 | CrossFit, small gym | None |
PushPress Max | $229/mo | 2.75% + $0.30 | CrossFit, small gym | None |
Wodify | From $199/mo per location (Essentials) | As low as 2.7% + 30¢ (Wodify Payments) | CrossFit, functional fitness | None |
Vagaro | $30/mo base + 14-item add-on catalog | 3.5% + $0.19 on recurring card-on-file charges; 2.29–2.6% in person | Salon, spa, boutique fitness | None |
TeamUp | $119/mo (0–100 customers) | Not disclosed on page | Small group, multi-discipline | None |
Kicksite | $49 / $99 / $149 / $199/mo | 2.9% + $0.25 plus $29/mo via Basys; 3.75% student pass-through option | Martial arts | None |
MyStudio | $79 / $159 / $239/mo | 2.9% + $0.30 (1% ACH) | MA, youth programs | None |
GymMaster | $89 / $129 / $209/mo (Foundation → Professional) | Not disclosed on page | 24/7 access, multi-segment | None on base; hardware extra |
Zen Planner | $99–$289/mo (Studio, by active members) | Custom pricing (not published) | BJJ, MA, CrossFit | Not stated |
Platforms that hide pricing (walled; ranges are field-reported)
Mindbody and Glofox send you to a sales call instead. The ranges below come from third-party reports and owners who've been quoted, so treat them as ballparks.
Platform | Community-Reported Range | What the Page Tells You | Processing (Where Known) |
Mindbody | ~$99–$159/mo (Starter) to $499+/mo (Ultimate) in third-party reports; US field reports cluster at $250–$360/mo | "Starting at $79/mo," then "Let’s talk" on every plan | 2.75% in-person / 3.5% + $0.15 online (field-reported; Mindbody quotes by plan) / 20% marketplace commission on a new client's first purchase, capped at $30 |
Glofox / ABC Glofox | Essential $110–$250, Elite $250–$400+, Enterprise $500+ | "Transparent pricing—No hidden fees so you know exactly what you're paying for" (on a page with zero prices) | 2.5–2.9% via Stripe or GoCardless |
What Actually Determines the Cost of Gym Software?
Four layers. Every platform has them, and the ones that look cheapest on layer one have a way of making it up on layers two through four.

1. The base subscription
The monthly price you see on the pricing page. It runs from $0 to $289/month among the plans that publish a price, with walled enterprise tiers running $500+.
Gymdesk charges by member count ($75 for up to 50 members, $200 for up to 250, with Gymdesk Payments). PushPress charges by feature tier (Free, Pro at $159, Max at $229). Zen Planner, Mindbody, and Glofox charge by member count and tier.
Then there's "contact us for a quote," which is the fanciest way to say "we'll negotiate harder if we think you can pay more."
The subscription is the number everyone compares when shopping for gym management software. It's also the least useful number for comparison.
2. Payment processing fees
Every gym management platform processes your member payments and charges a percentage on each transaction. The difference between 2.9% and 4.99% sounds like a rounding error. It is not.
A gym processing $15,000/month in membership payments (roughly 150 members at $100 each) will pay:
- 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction (Gymdesk Payments): ~$480/month
- 4.99% + $0.30 per transaction (PushPress Free plan): ~$794/month
That's a ~$314/month gap. Over a year, $3,768 just in the difference between two processing rates. The subscription wasn't even part of that math yet.
One gym owner running a Gracie Jiu-Jitsu location on Mindbody reported $195/month in base fees plus $1,400/month in processing, per our Mindbody fees analysis. Total: $1,595/month. For the software.
3. Add-on and module costs
Some platforms include everything in your subscription. Others sell you the base, then charge separately for the pieces you actually need.
Think CRM and marketing tools, branded mobile apps, workout programming, websites, advanced reporting, payroll, waivers, and SMS.
Each one is a separate line item on some platforms, running $10 to $329/month per module. A "$159/month" plan can quietly become $500+ when you add the features you'll inevitably need. Our member app comparison shows which apps include them at every tier.
Vagaro's base is $30/month and they publish an add-on catalog of 14 items, most running $10 to $100/month each.
4. Hidden costs
The stuff that doesn't make the pricing page:
- Setup and onboarding fees
- Data migration from your old platform
- Staff training hours
- Contract minimums, auto-renewals, and early termination fees
- Cancellation friction (ask how cancellation works and how much notice they need)
- Admin hours on a platform built for a different gym type
The bigger ones get their own section further down.
KEY TAKEAWAY:
Add processing, add-ons, and setup to the subscription before you compare. For most gyms, processing is the bigger number.
Platform-by-Platform Breakdown
Each vendor in the same structure: who it's for, what you pay, what stacks on top, and any editorial note worth your attention.
Gymdesk
For: martial arts, BJJ, multi-discipline.
- Base: $75–$200/month for gyms up to 250 members (on Gymdesk Payments), priced by member count
- Processing: Gymdesk Payments built in at 2.9% + $0.30, with a $5/month account fee. Bring your own processor instead and your plan costs $25 a month more ($40 on Large).
- Included: billing, scheduling, check-in, member app, website, belt tracking, POS, family accounts, reporting
- Add-ons: branded member app $100/mo, extra locations $50/mo each with Gymdesk Payments ($100 with your own processor), door access from $100/mo; SMS: usage-based through Telnyx, plus pass-through registration fees for US numbers
- Contract: Month-to-month. No setup fee.
A 200-member gym on Gymdesk Payments pays $200/month and gets every core feature. No tiered gating. The paid add-ons are the ones listed above.
PushPress
For: CrossFit and small gyms. Modular pricing.
- Core tiers: Free $0/mo (4.99% + $0.30 processing), Pro $159/mo (2.89% + $0.30), Max $229/mo (2.75% + $0.30)
- Grow (CRM + marketing): $329/mo add-on
- Train (workout programming): $79+/mo add-on
- Branded app:$97/mo + $99/yr setup
Their pricing page leads with Core. It doesn't show the total.
See the PushPress alternatives guide for deeper comparison. Head-to-head: PushPress vs Gymdesk.
Wodify
For: CrossFit and functional fitness. Sold as three plans plus add-ons.
- Essentials: $199/mo per location list price
- Accelerate and Ultimate (marketing automation and more): demo-only pricing
- Add-ons: branded app $79/mo (plus a $99/yr Apple developer account); custom website on Essentials, price not published
- Processing (Wodify Payments): As low as 2.7% + 30¢ (card), 1.5% + 30¢ (ACH)
- No monthly processing fees
Mindbody
For: boutique fitness, yoga, Pilates, wellness. Enterprise-oriented.
Subscription is walled. You have to talk to sales. Here's what's known:
- Advertised: from $79/mo per location, every plan quote-only
- Subscription range (third-party): ~$99–$159/mo (Starter) to $499+/mo (Ultimate)
- US field reports (more reliable): cluster tighter at $250–$360/mo
- Processing: 2.75% in-person / 3.5% + $0.15 online (field-reported; Mindbody quotes rates by plan)
- Marketplace bookings:20% commission on a new client's first purchase (capped at $30); later bookings are commission-free
- Processor: Integrated billing runs on Mindbody Payments only. You can connect an outside processor, but it works as a manual, non-integrated payment—so you lose automatic recurring billing.
For more: Mindbody alternatives and Mindbody features. Head-to-head: Mindbody vs Gymdesk.
Zen Planner
For: BJJ, MA, CrossFit. Base subscription and add-ons are both published.
- Subscription (Studio):$99/mo for 0–45 active members up to $289/mo for 251+.
- Studio Extensions (all vendor-confirmed):
- Website: $99/mo
- Engage (marketing automation): $249/mo
- Branded App: $39/mo
- EMV Devices: $39/mo
Those stack.
Head-to-head: Zen Planner alternative.
ABC Glofox
For: boutique fitness and martial arts. Owned by ABC Fitness.
The vendor page claims "Transparent pricing—No hidden fees so you know exactly what you're paying for."
It publishes zero prices.
Every tier button says "Request Pricing." Third-party aggregators converge on:
- Essential: $110–$250/mo
- Boost: Mid-range (specific dollars not published)
- Elite: $250–$400+/mo
- Enterprise: $500+/mo
- Processing: 2.5–2.9% via Stripe or GoCardless
Head-to-head: Glofox alternative.
Vagaro
For: salons, spas, wellness studios. Fitness is secondary.
Base is cheap. The add-on catalog is the whole product.
- Base: $30/mo per bookable calendar ($23.99 intro rate for the first six months)
- Processing: 3.5% + $0.19 on recurring membership charges (Vagaro bills card-on-file payments at its keyed-in rate), plus $10/mo above $4,000 in monthly volume; 2.29%–2.6% in person
Add-on sample (14 listed in total):
- Branded App: $100/mo
- MySite (website): $20/mo
- Text Marketing: from $20/mo
- Payroll: $34/mo + $5/employee
- Check-In App / Forms / Live Stream / Shopping Cart: $10/mo each
- Data Lake: $40/mo
No contract fees, no cancellation fees, no setup fees, no signup fees, no PCI-compliance fees. That part's vendor-explicit.
TeamUp
For: small-group and multi-discipline studios.
- Base: $119/mo for 0–100 customers
- Scaling: Customer-count selector on vendor page (<100 → 501+; higher brackets interactive on the page)
- Custom Branded App: $99/mo add-on
- Setup fee: None (vendor-explicit)
- Processing: Not disclosed on the public page
Kicksite
For: martial arts schools. Budget tier with an honest processing twist.
- Tiers: $49 / $99 / $149 / $199/mo (four tiers; annual discount on request)
- Processing: 2.9% + $0.25 per transaction plus $29/month via Basys (their preferred payment partner)
- Student pass-through option: 3.75% surcharge paid by the student, which covers the per-transaction cost (the $29/month Basys fee still applies)
MyStudio offers the same pass-through.
Head-to-head: Kicksite alternative.
MyStudio
For: martial arts, youth programs, small fitness studios.
MyStudio puts its CRM, billing, website, and branded member app on every plan. The tiers differ by automation depth, branding options, and reporting.
Plan | Per month | Automations |
Essentials | $79 | Not listed |
Growth | $159 | 10 trigger-based |
Scale | $239 | Unlimited |
- Processing: 2.9% + $0.30 per card transaction, 1% for ACH
- Pass-through option: You can shift processing fees to customers
Head-to-head: MyStudio alternatives.
GymMaster
For: 24/7 access gyms and multi-segment operators. Hardware-integrated.
Software tiers (per site, per month):
- Foundation: $89, up to 100 members
- Advanced: $129, up to 400 members
- Professional: $209, up to 1,300 members
- Enterprise: by quote, unlimited members
Terms:
- Annual prepay saves 10%
- Money-back guarantee for 60 days
- No lock-in contracts
- Processing rate not disclosed on the pricing page
Hardware line items (if using GymMaster access control):
- RFID key fobs: from $1.30 each (branded fobs add $170 per 500)
- Readers (RFID + Bluetooth): $130 at reception, $300 per door
- Gatekeeper: $550
- Tailgating system: $400 per camera, plus a $40/mo module fee
Head-to-head: GymMaster alternative.
The Real Cost of "Free" Gym Software

Free plans exist. They're not charity. Once your gym collects more than about $3,800 a month in payments, a free plan costs more than a paid one.
The business model is simple: charge 0% on the subscription, make it up on processing fees. You see "$0/month" and sign up, and the platform collects 4%+ on every dollar that runs through its payment system. The more successful your gym gets, the more you pay.
Here's what that looks like at different monthly payment volumes:
Monthly Payment Volume | PushPress Free (4.99% + $0.30) | Gymdesk Payments (2.9% + $0.30) | Monthly Difference |
$5,000 (50 members) | ~$265 | ~$160 | $105 |
$10,000 (100 members) | ~$529 | ~$320 | $209 |
$15,000 (150 members) | ~$794 | ~$480 | $314 |
$20,000 (200 members) | ~$1,058 | ~$640 | $418 |
At $10,000/month in payments (a 100-member gym with $100 average membership), the "free" plan's processing fees ($529) already exceed what you'd pay for a Gymdesk subscription ($100 for 100 members on Gymdesk Payments) plus the $5 Payments account fee plus Gymdesk's lower processing ($320). That's $425 total for Gymdesk vs $529 for "free."
The crossover point is about $3,800/month (roughly 38 members at $100 each). Below that, a free plan can make sense for a brand-new gym keeping costs low while building membership. Above that, you're paying more for less.
Want personalized numbers? Plug in your member count and payment volume to see a side-by-side comparison:
Or open the PushPress vs Gymdesk cost calculator full-page.
Free plans work for the right gym. If you're opening next month with 20 members and $2,000/month in payments, a free plan is a reasonable starting point. Just run the numbers for where you expect to be in 12 months.
RUN YOUR OWN NUMBERS
Our processing fee calculator shows exactly what you'll pay at any volume and rate combination.
What Most Pricing Pages Don't Tell You

The four layers above explain where the money goes. Here's how they play out in practice, plus the costs that never show up on an invoice.
Feature gating. Some platforms advertise a base price, then charge separately for CRM, marketing automation, branded apps, or workout programming.
Before you sign, ask one question: "What do I need to add to get everything I'll use in year one?" Then add up the real number.
PushPress is the clearest example. Starting from $159/month Core, the full stack adds:
- Grow (CRM + marketing): +$329/mo
- Train (workout programming): +$79/mo
- Branded app: +$97/mo (plus $99/yr setup)
That "starting at $159" plan becomes $664+/mo before you process a single payment.
Zen Planner does the same thing at a smaller scale—base subscription plus $99 Website plus $249 Engage plus $39 Branded App plus $39 EMV Devices. Five line items where the sticker price suggested one.
Walled pricing. Two of the 11 platforms in this guide don't publish subscription pricing at all: Mindbody and Glofox. Wodify does the same for its Accelerate and Ultimate plans, and Zen Planner used to be a third walled vendor.
Every "request a quote" button signals that the number will be negotiated based on what the sales team thinks you can pay. That makes fair comparison shopping impossible, which is usually the point.
Payment processor lock-in. Some platforms only give you one path to integrated billing. Mindbody keeps automatic recurring billing on Mindbody Payments, and an outside processor only works as manual, non-integrated payments. PushPress ties its card rate to your plan: 4.99% on Free, 2.89% on Pro, 2.75% on Max.
If you already have a processor you like, ask whether you can keep it before you sign. Gymdesk supports six options: Stripe, Square, Authorize.net, GoCardless, Ezypay, and Gymdesk Payments. Zen Planner bills through its own Zen Planner Payments and doesn't publish the rate.
Marketplace commissions. If a platform has a member-facing marketplace (Mindbody's is the biggest), booking through it costs more than booking direct. Mindbody charges a 20% commission on a new client's first marketplace purchase, capped at $30.
If your gym fills through referrals and local marketing, you're subsidizing the platform's reach. If the marketplace brings in members who'd never find you otherwise, the cut may pay for itself. Do the math.
Contract terms. Monthly vs annual billing, cancellation fees, price increases after year one: read the fine print. Gymdesk is month-to-month with no long-term contracts, and GymMaster runs month-to-month with a 60-day money-back guarantee and no lock-in.
Walled-pricing vendors often push annual terms. Ask before you sign.
Migration costs. Switching means moving member data, payment records, scheduling history, and billing profiles. Some platforms charge for help with switching gym software. Others make export deliberately painful, so ask about both before you sign.
Admin time. A platform that needs five hours a week of manual management has a real cost, even if nobody sends you an invoice for it. The goal is software that disappears after setup—it runs your billing, manages your schedule, and handles check-ins without you babysitting it.
Billing reliability. A cheaper platform with weak retry logic can cost you more in uncollected dues than it saves in fees. Declined charges that never retry and billing emails that land in spam both turn into dues you never collect.
Before committing to any platform, ask about uptime, automatic retry logic, and email deliverability rates.
CURIOUS HOW MUCH BILLING ISSUES COST?
The billing leakage calculator can help you estimate.
8 QUESTIONS TO ASK BEFORE YOU BUY
- What's my total monthly cost at 100, 200, and 300 members, including every feature I'll use?
- What are the processing fees on card payments, ACH, and cash?
- Is there a marketplace fee or booking commission on top of processing?
- Which features cost extra, and how much?
- Can I use my existing payment processor, or am I locked into one?
- What's the contract length, and what happens if I need to cancel?
- How do you handle data migration from my current platform?
- Will the price go up next year? By how much?
Any platform that can answer all eight clearly and quickly is worth your time. Any platform that gets vague on questions two, three, four, or five should make you nervous.
How to Calculate Your Gym's Real Software Cost
Here's the formula. It's not complicated. Vendors just don't want you doing this math before the sales call.
TOTAL COST OF OWNERSHIP FORMULA
True Monthly Cost = Base Subscription + (Monthly Payment Volume x Processing Rate) + Per-Transaction Fees + Add-On Modules + Marketplace Commissions (if any)
Plug your own numbers in here, or follow the worked example below:
Run it full-page with the gym software cost calculator.
Let's walk through it for a 150-member martial arts school processing $12,000/month in membership payments.
Gymdesk:
- Subscription: $150/month (101–150 member tier, with Gymdesk Payments)
- Processing: $12,000 x 2.9% = $348 + ($0.30 x 150 transactions) = $393
- Gymdesk Payments account fee: $5/month
- Add-ons: $0 for this setup (the branded app, extra locations, and door access cost extra)
- Total: ~$548/month
PushPress Pro (with Grow CRM + Branded App):
- Subscription: $159/month
- Grow CRM: $329/month
- Branded App: $97/month
- Processing: $12,000 x 2.89% = $347 + ($0.30 x 150) = $392
- Total: ~$977/month
PushPress Free:
- Subscription: $0
- Processing: $12,000 x 4.99% = $599 + ($0.30 x 150) = ~$644
- Add-ons: Limited features, no CRM
- Total: ~$644/month (with fewer features)
Kicksite (101+ student tier plus Basys processing):
- Subscription: $199/month
- Processing: $12,000 x 2.9% = $348 + ($0.25 x 150) + $29/month = $415
- Total: ~$614/month (less if the school uses the 3.75% student pass-through to move processing onto students)
MyStudio Essentials:
- Subscription: $79/month (CRM, website, and member app on every plan)
- Processing: $12,000 x 2.9% = $348 + ($0.30 x 150) = $393
- Total: ~$472/month
Same gym. Same 150 members. Monthly costs range from ~$472 to ~$977 depending on the platform and what's included.

Each total covers the subscription, processing, and any add-ons listed for that platform. The PushPress number covers CRM and a branded app, but that subscription stack is $585/month before a single payment is processed ($664+ with Train).
Which Gym Software Gives You the Most for Your Money?
I'm biased. I work for Gymdesk. So take what follows with whatever grain of salt you need, and then run the numbers yourself.
At $75–$200/month for gyms up to 250 members (on Gymdesk Payments), Gymdesk puts every core feature on every plan. You get a short list of clearly priced add-ons, no gated tiers, six payment processor options, and 2.9% + $0.30 processing on Gymdesk Payments.
For the 150-member school in the worked example, that's about $548 a month. It covers scheduling, billing, check-in, the member app, a website builder, belt/rank tracking, POS, family accounts, attendance tracking, and reporting. That number doesn't move when you turn on the features you'll use.
But I'll be straight about where other platforms might be the better fit.
CrossFit boxes with programming at the center of the business. Gymdesk handles WOD scheduling, scoring and leaderboards, but if you want a deep programming library or coach-built training plans, PushPress Train or Wodify's full stack go further. If that matters more than a few hundred dollars a month, the trade-off can be worth it.
Multi-location boutique fitness (yoga, Pilates, indoor cycling) with enterprise needs across several studios: Mindbody or ABC Glofox. They have enterprise infrastructure smaller platforms lack, and you'll pay for it. The math changes at scale.
Small-group and multi-discipline studios that want a simple customer-count-based subscription with no setup fee: TeamUp is a reasonable pick. The customer-count ladder is straightforward and the vendor is explicit that there's no setup charge.
24/7 access gyms where door hardware is core to the business: GymMaster. The integration between software and access-control hardware is their whole thesis, and the 60-day money-back guarantee lowers the switching risk. If you're weighing it, compare these GymMaster alternatives.
Salons or spas adding fitness classes to a beauty-first business: Vagaro. It's built for their primary market, and the module pricing lets you add only what you need.
Martial arts schools after the lowest possible monthly number: MyStudio Essentials came in about $75 under us in the example above.
Brand-new gyms opening next month with 15 members and $1,500/month in payments: a free plan is the right call. Keep your costs at zero while you figure out if this business is going to work. You can always switch later.
For single-location martial arts schools, BJJ academies, boutique gyms, and fitness studios processing $5,000–$25,000/month in membership payments, the math tends to favor plans that include the core features in the base price. Run your own numbers in the calculator above and see where you land. If you're still narrowing the field, here's how to choose gym management software.
Start a free trial—no credit card required.










